Waffle

National Service

Posted on: September 14, 2008

In hours, I will be on The Penguin heading towards Pulau Tekong, towards a new phase in my life. National Service. I am all packed for it.

After three weeks of mind conditioning, I am quite numb to this whole idea of National Service. National Service has become something very natural to me and I am not going to resist or grumble about it. Being negative isn’t going to help, might as well be positive, accept it and make the best out of it.

All this could not have been possible if not for the words of a lecturer and a doctor who opened my eyes to a whole new perspective about National Service. I have come of age and it’s time that I shoulder the responsibilities a man should, including the duty to protect this island, its people, its properties and my very own family. If Singaporean men don’t do it, who’s going to do it…?

I have always shun tasks because I am afraid it will become my responsibility. However, it’s an inevitable human cycle that we age and more is expected of us. I am sure we all want to remain as carefree children, but we have to accept when it’s our time to step out of our comfort zone.

For now, I am going to bid my family, friends, hair, laptop, Samsung X820, iPod nano, DS Lite, digital camera, internet, blog, books, TV, bed and whatever I have/enjoy, goodbye. I’ll see all of you in 2 to 3 weeks time during my first book-out.

Tekong, here I am. Psychologically ready but not physically. I put my trust in you to make me “all-ready”. Tomorrow, I will be known as Recruit Chew.

P.S. You can take note of any updates on my Lifestream/Tumblelog, first sector on the right sidebar. I have found the way to update there and on Facebook.

1 Response to "National Service"

[…] How am I going to survive my next 8 weeks or further 99 weeks in service…? Seems like all the vulnerable mind fortresses I previously built have fallen… Those vulnerable mind fortresses I built just to delude myself into accepting […]

Leave a Reply

Twitter

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

RSS Tumblr

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Affiliates

Blog Stats

  • 146,846 hits

Archives

