Waffle

No More Auditing For Me…

Posted on: November 15, 2007

Being an auditor is exhausting and my allowance as a intern doesn’t commensurate the amount of brain cells I have to use during fieldwork…

I earn SGD $600 every month during my 5-month internship at one of the Big 4 Auditing Firms worldwide. That’s $3.75 per hour for a 40-hour work week. I am attached to a department which audits large and listed companies. I started my internship in September and I am into my third month now.

Currently, I am auditing a medical group. This is officially my first audit job because I did more of consolidation on my first job. My job is mostly to help the Audit Assistants with their work like the Sales Cycle, Payment Cycle, Payroll, Bank Reconciliation etc.

While doing fieldwork, there are lots of flipping around to match figures. It always isn’t that clear cut whereby I will have to find the breakdown of a lump sum to find a particular figure. Many a times, I will have to crack my brain to think where can I find a reliable source to tie the figures. Everything is simply everywhere and it’s rather frustrating going around to find things that you don’t know if they are going to be useful to you…

At least I get to knock off at 5.30 PM. My Audit Senior and Audit Assistants don’t have such priviledge. So if I am going to be an auditor in the future, I will live their lives. I will have to work after the official knock off time. I might have to work overtime till 2 or 3 AM in the morning and head back to work early next morning. I might have my weekends burnt to rush deadlines for the following week.

Of course, they receive more compensation than me. Roughly 4 times and above depending on their position. However, the higher you get, the more tedious your workload will be. The more you need to work your brain muscles. I admit that I am a bit lazy to work my brains but I don’t think I can work them on something I am not interested in. If it is something that I like and is my passion, racking some brains wouldn’t hurt. 4 times my current allowance isn’t attractive to me at all… I guess I will never do auditing again…

Tags: ,

3 Responses to "No More Auditing For Me…"

now you know why i didnt take accountancy when i went thru the whole lot of it in ite.. and choose banking and finance..

Hey! I used to work under IBM as a project leader earning MUCH lesser than you for $450 nett during my ITE internships. At least you got to sit down and look at figures. I’ve to run about all the ITE campuses to do PC equipments and peripherals auditing coming close to 10 over thousand serials.

It was probably considered the lowest point in my life, but hey, now in my resume, its much better! I used to be a project leader for IBM and people like it.

I also disagree with Gary for banking and Finance course too. What they teach is very general in these polys except for TP where you go hands on. It’s really stressful to go through numerous exams to test on software like Reuters and etc. I know it because I’m in it.

Bear with it. you will see the fruits at the end of the tunnel. 🙂

Hey! Find joy in your work and endure with it. Afterall, I’m sure you’re happy to be in one of the big 4s for your APT. Compare to your peers, it’ll do so much good with that name in your resume and the experience you gained. At the end of it, I’m sure you won’t regret instead, happy that you’re there with the company and the friends you made. Trust me. I’ve been through all these as I’m your senior. ^_^

Leave a Reply

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

RSS Tumblr

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Affiliates

Blog Stats

  • 146,729 hits

Archives

