Waffle

Shopping Alone

Posted on: January 21, 2007

My exams are coming and I am not done with my shopping for Lunar New Year new clothes. I asked Mom about her budget at dinner last night. She said I can get two more tops for $80 to $100. I told her I wanted to join a Mass Order for Korean apparels but she denounced the idea as it might not come in time for LNY.

I have two tops that I want to get from Threadless.com but I am also afraid that it won’t come in time… I had no choice but to go shopping today. I went alone as there was no chance that I can find companion in such short notice. Zhi Kai’s in army and he won’t be able to return my favour of getting his Prom clothes… Nickerson has a girlfriend now, I think he would be busy…

I set off for Vivocity at 12.20 PM and reached there about 1.10 PM. I made my first round around the mall going to shops like GAP, Pull and Bear, Zara, TopMan, Tommy Hilfiger, Adidas, Ted Baker, Desigual, Freshbox, Domanchi etc to take a look at what’s available.

I would say I was quite disappointed with GAP, Zara and TopMan. GAP is simply overrated. I can get those clothes at Giordano for maybe half the price. Zara didn’t have anything attractive, a direct contrast from the time Zhi Kai and I went shopping for his Prom. TopMan was getting very rocker-ish and old man-ish with the dots and stripes.

As I was on a tight budget, expensive shops like Tommy Hilfiger and Ted Baker were easily out of consideration. Each piece there would easily cost more than $80. Further eliminating several other retail shops, I finally came upon Pull and Bear, Desigual and Freshbox.

Initially I wanted to get a shirt from Freshbox which is retailing at $32.50 but they don’t bring in S sizes and M sizes were too baggy for me. Domanchi’s shirt were slightly better, offers altering services but the price wasn’t within my budget. Each piece would cost $79 to $89. I gave up getting a shirt…

I finally concluded on a White Desigual T-Shirt and Red Pull and Bear T-shirt.

The Desigual T-Shirt costs $52.25 after 50% discount. I swear not to step into Desigual again unless they have another 50% sale. The Pull and Bear T-Shirt costs a reasonable $25.90. I spent a total of $78.15, cents less than the lower of the $80 to $100 budget.

Now that I am done shopping for Lunar New Year, it’s time to start studying for the exams which is in 17 days…

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

RSS Tumblr

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Affiliates

Blog Stats

  • 146,722 hits

Archives

